BROOKINGS COUNTY ZONING
Brookings City & County Government Center
605-696-8350 @ 520 3 St, Suite 200 ®  zoning@brookingscountysd.gov

Lake Park Building Permits

Required for:

e Erecting a NEW structure or Required Setbacks for Lakefront:
building. For example, a home,
garage, shed

e Moving a Structure. For example,
moving a residence or any other
building onto another site.

e Remodeling a Structure. For
example, changes in the building,
adding a room, or creating a
different style of roof.

e Lot Size — 20,000 sq. ft.
Min Shoreline — 75’

Min road frontage — 50’
Min front yard — 25’

Min side yard — &’

Lake side — 75’

Required Setbacks for Non-Lakefront:

Lot Size — 20,000 sq. ft.
Min lot width — 60’

Min front yard — 25’
Min side yard — 8’

Min rear yard — 25’

NOT required for:

e Buildings less than 120 square
feet

e Minor Repairs

e Household Septic Systems

Accessory Building Size Allowed:

Kingbrook Rural Water System e Up to 2,000 Sq. Ft.
Requirements: e Side-Wall up to 14 Ft,
e Waterlines Typically have a 30-foot Drainage requirements:
easement '
e Landowner responsible to insure that e Any alteraton of natural drainage
Kingbrook is notified prior to any .

; pattern onto an adjoining property
construction 605-983-5074 or 1-800- without approval is unauthorized.
605-5279

o Swimming Pools:
Building Code

e Building permit required

e 2015 IRC & 2015 IBC e Fence recommended

South Dakota One Call:
Utility locates: 1-800-781-7474

INFORMATION REQUIRED TO OBTAIN A BUILDING PERMIT:
e Name, Address, and Phone Number.
e Legal description of the property where building is to occur. (Township, Section Number,
Location).
e Dimensions of structure to be built.
e Floor plans (for residences only).
e Approximate cost of the building (contractor’s bid).
¢ Distance from road (setbacks see above).
e Type of sewer & water system (if applicable).
¢ Truss Rafter Diagram (40 # Ground Snowload required)

¢ Foundation form (can be picked up in our office).
Updated: 6-21-2018
Wiring Permit Info - on back - Updated 6-26-2018
Plumbing Permit-Post Card Handout — Updated 12-20-2011
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SOUTH DAKOTA ELECTRICAL COMMISSION
308 S. Pierre St., Pierre, SD 57501

Tel: 605.773.3573 | Toll-Free: 800.233.7765
electrical.sd.gov

HOMEOWNER WIRING

South Dakota allows homeowners to install electrical wiring under what is known as the homeowner exemption. Statute
36-16-15 states in part, that no license is required of an individual installing electrical wiring in his own residence or
farmstead. Chapter 20:44:14:01 (12) “Owners Exemption” states an exemption from licensure requirements for an
individual owner who is PERSONALLY installing electric wiring and fixtures in a residence or farmstead which is owned
and resided in or on by the person installing the electrical wiring or fixtures. This exemption does not allow licensed
electricians or electrical contractors or any other person to do work under a homeowner wiring permit nor does it
allow for homeowners to do work under a contractors wiring permit.

A homeowner wiring permit may not be used to install wiring for mobile homes on rented lots or in mobile home
parks, rental property or property for commercial use.

To obtain a Homeowner's Wiring Permit, mail a check for $60 plus $50 per additional
inspections over and above the first inspection [$10 permit fee with $50 minimum
inspection fee plus $50 per additional inspection (made payable to the South Dakota
Electrical Commission)] and submit with the Homeowner Permit Application (Adobe
PDF format). Please note, fees are required to be paid before inspections are conducted.

RESIDENTIAL ELECTRICAL INSPECTION

All electrical installations must meet the National Electrical Code and the requirements of the South Dakota State Laws
and Rules. The standard for compliance with the national electrical code is universal. The National Electrical Code is
updated every three years, as is the South Dakota State Wiring Bulletin. Please note additional consultation and/or
inspections over and above the typical inspection process will be charged an addition fee per SD Administrative Rule
20:44:19:07(4).

Any installer must provide at least 72 hour notification to the inspector or the Commission office for an inspection. You
are required to notify your local inspector and have a rough-in inspection completed prior to insulating, sheet rocking,
paneling or covering the installation with any other type of material which would inhibit the rough-in inspection.
Underground wiring must be inspected before the trench is back-filled. A final inspection is required for all jobs prior to
occupancy.

All wiring permits are good for three years, if the job is not completed by the end of three years you will need to
purchase another wiring permit to complete the job. Failure to do so could result in a $100 administrative fee.

Please be cautious if you are not certain as to the requirements of a South Dakota electrical installation. It is the
installer’s responsibility to understand the laws and rules which govern installations. Utilize a licensed electrical
contractor as a consultant or an installer to mitigate costly expenses due to nonprofessional advice, noncompliant
materials or poor installation techniques.

If you need further assistance, please call the Electrical Commission office at 605.773.3573.

An electronic version of the Homeowner Wiring Manual can be found at:
http://dir.sd.gov/electrical/documents/homeowner wiring manual.pdf.





